Author Topic: Calling all homeowners - have some questions  (Read 10666 times)

Offline delalluvia

• BetterMost 5000+ Posts Club
  • "Truth is an iron bride"
Calling all homeowners - have some questions
« on: May 30, 2010, 05:54:42 pm »
OK, as many of you know, I moved into my mother's house.

I've very little knowledge of how stuff works when it comes to houses, in regards to repair, city services, etc.

e.g. I've lived in apartments all of my adult life.  If I had trash or a bunch of trash, I took it to the dumpster and that was that.  If a window broke, I called the manager and it was fixed before I was home from work.

Now I have window screens with holes in them, broken individual panes of window glass and a trash can given to me by the city.

Can you just buy window screens?  Or do they have to be custom made?  

Who fixes broken panes of glass?  Is it a window repair person or a glass repair person?

I've just moved all of my stuff into my mother's home and am trashing a lot of her stuff that couldn't be sold or given away or kept as a memento.

The trashcan is long since filled and I have bags and bags and boxes and boxes of stuff piled around it.

Will the trash collectors take it like that?  

Offline Mandy21

• BetterMost 1000+ Posts Club
Re: Calling all homeowners - have some questions
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2010, 06:41:11 pm »
{{Del}}  Bless your heart for being so brave.  I don't have the courage to move from my little home that I love so much, 7 blocks over into my family home that's been vacant for so long.  Makes me cry every time I go over there and try to clean out stuff, even 2 years after her passing.  Thankfully, both homes are long-since paid for, so there's no time constraints on just letting it sit there as long as my brother keeps paying the maintenance and utility bills from our folks' account.

To answer your questions,