Author Topic: Do you do volunteer work?  (Read 8715 times)

mvansand76

Do you do volunteer work?
« on: July 18, 2007, 05:18:42 pm »

Hi! This is just one of the topics we were thinking of when we started pondering about this new forum!

Do you do volunteer work? Or: have you done volunteer work?

What do you do exactly?

How long have you been doing this?

What do you like about volunteer work?

If you have a paid job / or are a fulltime mother/father too, how do you fit it in your daily life?

I will give my own answers in a seperate post!  8)

mvansand76

Re: Do you do volunteer work?
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2007, 05:30:49 pm »
Yes, I do volunteer work for a patient association. I work as an editor for them, proofreading and writing articles. Also, for two years (2003-2005) I taught Dutch language to Moroccan and Turkish children and had my own radio program in a university medical centre.

What do you do exactly?
See above!

2,5 years! How time flies!

That it allows me to write articles about very important issues that need to be addressed: political issues, health care issues, trying to deal with chronic pain or how to get rid of it. The magazine we publish is very informative to people who are only just dealing with Repetitive Strain Injury and have no idea where to turn.

If you have a paid job / or are a fulltime mother/father too, how do you fit it in your daily life?
It's difficult sometimes. The reason why I stopped working at the other two volunteer jobs was because I couldn't combine it with my new job as a translator and editor anymore. Therefore I chose one volunteer job to continue with...

Offline Ellemeno

• The BetterMost 10,000 Post Club
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2007, 05:36:44 pm »
I have been feeling for a while like I need to get into doing more volunteer work.  I used to, but then had a tiny child and it felt hard.  But now I do have the time.