Author Topic: Would you like to make a career switch?  (Read 9892 times)

mvansand76

Would you like to make a career switch?
« on: August 01, 2007, 06:20:42 am »

If you do or you want to help other people make some changes in their life, please discuss things here!

Offline David In Indy

• BetterMost Supporter!
  • BetterMost Moderator
  • The BetterMost 10,000 Post Club
  • You've Got Male
Re: Would you like to make a career switch?
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2007, 11:17:26 pm »
*David raises his hand high in the air*

YES!!  :D

Yes, I'd like to make a career change. I was planning to go back to school this year and earn a degree in psychology but it didn't work out. I got too busy, I guess.

Dogs have owners. Cats have staff.

Offline serious crayons

• BetterMost Moderator
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2007, 11:24:10 pm »
I would like to find a career that pays actual money. As a writer, I have been published in numerous magazines and won prizes in literary contests, and yet I can't get hired to pump out ordinary old writing. Such is the plight of writers these days, of almost any kind. I got my Social Security statement the other day and noticed that I made more money one year in college, waitressing part time, than I made last year.

True, I could be more energetic about hustling for freelance gigs, so I realize part of that is my fault. And BBM's.  ::) But another big part of it is the internet.

Anyway, it's funny that I can write for respected national magazines but can't get a staff job writing press releases for a college.  ???  >:(

OK, end of rant.  :)

Offline Daniel

• Counsellor
  • BetterMost 1000+ Posts Club
  • I lost myself to him.
« Reply #3 on: October 10, 2007, 12:49:02 am »
Me... me... pick me.. I'll take a career change... not sure to what though...

I need to work on my resume some... too, anyone want to post theirs so I can get an idea for the format (and the types of things I should include)
Why do we consume what we consume?