BetterMost Community Blogs > Messages From The Heartland

David's Shutter Bug Club

(1/153) > >>

David In Indy:
Since posting my "Cameras: Digital or Film" poll, http://bettermost.net/forum/index.php/topic,16068.0.html several people have emailed me with camera questions. So, I decided to create a thread where people could come together and discuss cameras, offer tips and advice, and/or talk about their cameras and pictures.

I have a degree in photography, but I am in no way an expert. PLEASE remember that! I earned my degree 20 something years ago, back when digital photography didn't exist, at least not in its current form. Having said that, I do have quite a bit of experience in photography and I have been fooling around with cameras nearly my entire life. When I was very small, my mother owned a Kodak Instamatic camera. Remember those? She never allowed me to touch it. Then when we were on vacation in Florida, I asked her if I could take a picture and she said yes. She handed me the camera and I took a picture of a cloud. I was around 6 or 7 years old at the time. This cloud picture was my very first photo, and from then on I was completely hooked.

Also remember I am not beyond making a mistake and/or posting inaccurate information. Much of what I will be posting in here will be based on my 20 year old photography degree, and technology has changed quite a bit since then. I will also be posting info based on my personal experiences and preferences. Photography is fluid. There is more than one way to do things, and this is one of the first things the professors will tell you. Therefore...

I welcome constructive criticism and alternative opinions.

If you feel I have posted something in error, please tell me.

Ask all the questions you want.

Feel free to post tips and helpful information for others.

Tell us about your camera and what you like and don't like about it.