Author Topic: Hello from a new friend  (Read 9036 times)

Offline exKinnearGal

• Don't Say Much
Hello from a new friend
« on: August 27, 2008, 09:55:08 pm »
I didn't find an official place to introduce myself but given the friendly nature of what I've read so far I feel confident that just posting a new thread with a bit of an intro here will suffice.

I've been hearing about your wonderful community for a few months now, Phil and John are old friends, and I finally made it in, found a comfy seat and thought I'd let y'all know I'm here.

As my screen name says, I used to live near Kinnear, WY.  Our mailing address, and our mail, came to the Kinnear post office but we lived about 11 miles past Kinnear off Hwy. 26 on 6 acres off a private dirt road.  We moved out there in May 2001 and left in August 2005.  As glorious as the Wind River Mountains are and as nice as the people out there were and as much as we miss some of our friends who live there, I'm glad to be back to what I call home.  Driving darn near 40 miles to grocery shop in Riverton at the Super Walmart was a BIT too far for me.  As was driving into Lander for Dr. and dentist appts., visits with friends (I lived for awhile in Lander while the other half lived out on our land on Nuts Flats as we call it...that's another story) and general needs for some sort of civilization.  Riverton just didn't do it for me so a trip across the rez to Lander was the norm for social activities, such as they were.

As for Wyoming as a whole, some parts of it are simply gorgeous. ALL of it is unique.  The people are for the most part good folks, even if some of them have their cowboy hats on a bit too tight.  :)  No offense to any Wyoming-ites in this community here, I would live there again if only it weren't so darn isolated for this small city gal.  The other half would still be out there if not for my unhappiness about living so isolated.