Author Topic: Jewel To Release a Country Album (Ang Lee trivia)  (Read 1873 times)

Offline Lynne

• BetterMost Supporter
  • BetterMost Moderator
  • BetterMost 5000+ Posts Club
  • "The world's always ending." --Ianto Jones
    • Elizabeth Warren for Massachusetts
Jewel To Release a Country Album (Ang Lee trivia)
« on: January 30, 2007, 12:57:19 pm »
Jewel Says Yes to Country Album
By Marilyn Beck and Stacy Jenel Smith
Jan 30, 2007

Three-time Grammy nominee Jewel reports she's gearing up to record her first country CD -- but it's not a matter of simply capitalizing on her current exposure as the co-host of the USA Network's "Nashville Star" talent show this season.  "I've been writing a country record since I was 16," says the multi-platinum singer/songwriter who's sold over 27 million albums worldwide.

"I'm a free agent now, so I'm going to start to make some records I've been wanting to do for a while." She adds she already has "some 20 to 30 songs together," and the new album will "run the gamut like any of my records. Some of it will be socially conscious, some of it totally personal."

Meanwhile, Jewel says she's having a blast co-hosting "Nashville Star" with Cowboy Troy. "They came to me about being a permanent judge, but the job allows you only about 15 seconds to help the contestants," she says. "I decided to host because I wanted to do the mentoring thing. I have two-hour sessions with each of them at several different times, and I can really help them. It's been fun."