Author Topic: Production Mistakes I think they Made on the Movie  (Read 165105 times)

Offline RossInIllinois

• Brokeback Mountain Resident
Production Mistakes I think they Made on the Movie
« on: March 14, 2007, 02:39:45 pm »
I work in the film business and I can't get over how the set decorating and Ang Lee screwed up when it comes to the Twist family home. This set looks more like Little house on the prairie than a home of 1982/1983 what were they thinking?  The Kitchen had an "Ice Box" in it thats just ridiculous. The appliances toaster etc on the counter look to be of vintage 1930s.  There are no pictures of "Jack" anywhere nothing in the house to make it looked lived in all these years. I'm shocked Ang didn't make them correct that ugly mess of a set. It looks like they found an old barn had the painters put a grenade in a couple buckets of gray paint once they exploaded gray paint on EVERYTHING  then added a table and Volla the Twist family home. This set/concept is shameful for such a movie.  Maybe thats why Ang portrayed Jacks parents as Mental institution zombies on Valium to make the look of the set work better??? ;D
« Last Edit: March 14, 2007, 02:55:06 pm by RossInIllinois »

Offline opinionista

• BetterMost 1000+ Posts Club
Re: Production Mistakes I think they Made on the Movie
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2007, 03:08:22 pm »
Welcome to Bettermost Ross. Your comments are very interesting. I seldom pay attention to decoration details. However, I did notice the Twists home was a bit too empty to be a home. Granted, they wanted to show their poverty but Ennis's home, for example, did not look as empty as the Twists's home did. However, Jack's room was more believable, IMO that is. The closet, the figurines on the desk, made it look like what could've been Jack's room in real life.
Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement. -Mark Twain.

Offline RossInIllinois

« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2007, 03:16:09 pm »